Advances in technology are taking big strides, allowing almost everyone to have their own smartphone. In the world, there are several owners of iPhones. However, many of these owners do not know what resetting an iPhone does, how one can do it, and when to do it. So if you have an iPhone and want to learn about resetting your iPhone, this article is for you.

What Does Resetting The iPhone Do?

After you reset your iPhone, all applications you have installed, as well as your contacts, appointments, records, and all other personal information, will be lost. In terms of software, the iPhone will be just as good as the new one. If you are resetting iPhone so you can put it up for sale, you can be sure that your personal data is not stored on your phone any longer.

The reset will not remove the iOS software that Apple installed on the iPhone recently, including the downloaded updates. IOS is necessary for the operation of the iPhone because, without it, the device cannot be turned on. Factory-installed apps, such as calendar, phone, and camera, will not get deleted. But if they contain any records, they will be deleted.

When Do You Need To Reset Your iPhone?

Resetting an iPhone may be necessary for various reasons, ranging from device freezing to losing the password from the gadget. Among many, the following signs show that it’s time to reset your iPhone:

  • Slow processing
  • 5 seconds delay receiving live images
  • Delay when clicking on Contacts
  • Lagging when scrolling through contacts or some other iPhone error codes

While installation of new apps can be a daunting task after you reset your iPhone, the benefits are worth it. The OS gets faster after you clean all cobwebs and remove the leftover code from the long-deleted beta. Thus, if there is any doubt and longer than the usual delay, then it is a good idea to reset your iPhone.

Rebooting Vs. Resetting An iPhone

Even if you love your Apple device, sometimes you may have to restart or reset your iPhone when it starts to slow down. So what do you know when to reboot an iPhone? And when is it necessary to reset the iPhone?

At times, we have to stop what we are doing on our smart devices and reboot them to make them function properly. Normally, all of our iPhone data and everyday use will require a simple restart of the device to reconfigure the system. Don’t be fooled into thinking you don’t have to turn off your iPhone as long as you’re alive. Restarting the device can help improve performance, especially if you’re having frozen apps or other problems.

If the problem of lagging and slow processing does not go away with rebooting, reset is the best solution to improve the performance of your iPhone. Yes, reset erases all your own settings and data that you have received in your device over the years. But if you have a backup of your smartphone, you can fix it.

What Should I Do Before Resetting My iPhone?

There are two things you need to do before resetting your iPhone. Firstly, you need to make a backup of your device so that when information is needed, you can restore it. You can do this by using iTunes or iCloud. Secondly, you need to turn off Find My features on iPhone because resetting the iPhone will not disable this feature. If you plan to resell or trade your iPhone, you want this to be perfect.

How To Reset Your iPhone?

If you are going to sell your phone and or give it to someone else, or your device freezes and stops working, or you are about to buy a new iPhone, then the first thing you need to do is to reset the phone. You don’t have to worry too much; just follow the methods mentioned here.

Method 1: General Way To Reset An iPhone

This method is easy and simple since you do not need to install special programs to reset the device to factory settings. The only thing that is required of you is your Apple ID password.

Step 1: Enter the settings of your device, follow the following sequence of actions: Settings> General> Reset.

Step 2: Next, select the item: “Erase content and settings.”

Step 3: Then, you will need to enter the password for your gadget and then the password for your Apple ID account.

Step 4: In the final step, you will need to confirm the data reset by clicking on “Erase iPhone” and then wait until the end of the action.

Method 2: Resetting iPhone Using iTunes

You can also reset iPhone to factory settings using Apple’s iTunes software. This method requires your PC and iTunes. To start the reset process, you need to follow the steps mentioned below:

Step 1: Download and install iTunes on your PC and run it. Connect iPhone to a computer with a USB cable and turn on iTunes.

Step 2: In the window that appears, select the icon of your phone by clicking on it. Next, in the “Settings” section, select “Overview” and then select “Restore iPhone”.

Step 3: Disable Find My iPhone by following actions: Settings> iCloud> Find iPhone. By selecting this item, all data stored on your smartphone will be deleted, and the latest version of the system will be installed.

Step 4: Go to icloud.com and enter your Apple ID password. In order for your device to no longer be linked to Apple ID, go to the “Find iPhone” section and delete your device.

After you reset your iPhone, a progress bar will appear on a blank screen along with the Apple logo. It may take a few minutes, so calmly wait. Your phone will work just like a new one does, and then you can do settings and install apps that you need. There is nothing to be afraid of when it comes to resetting your iPhone, especially when you have a backup of your data.